Managing Your Friends
When you join Campfire, you automatically become friends on Campfire with all your friends from the games you play that are integrated with Campfire: you play Pokémon GO? When you join Campfire, you’ll be Campfire friends with all your Pokémon GO friends who have joined Campfire. This is a great time to look at your friends list and remove those you aren’t really friends with. Remember that removing a friend in one game will remove them from any Niantic game you play.
Choosing who can message you
People you’re not friends with on Campfire cannot send you messages, but you can allow them to send Message Requests. If you choose to do so, you will need to accept the request before being able to reply to the non-friend’s message. You can disable Message Requests by going to your profile, tapping the settings icon on the top right, and select “Message Requests” to disable incoming message requests.
Sharing personal information
We recommend avoiding having personal information in your username, which may be visible publicly. While we do request the player's date of birth at registration, that information remains private and doesn’t show up on the profile for others to see.
Sharing personal information is generally not recommended and not necessary to play our games. This also applies to Campfire channels, Group messages and private messages. This includes sharing phone numbers, addresses, social media profiles, real names, date of birth (which don’t appear on profiles), age, etc. Any request for personal information or to move to another messaging platform is unnecessary to play our games and should probably not be fulfilled.
You can remove a friend from your Friend List at any time. The person that you’ve unfriended will not be notified. To remove a friend, go to the user’s profile, click the three dots on the top right corner and select “Remove Friend.” Note that removing a friend in one game will also remove them from your Friend List on any other Niantic game that you both play.
If you do not want to unfriend the user but solely to stop them from messaging you, you can mute the conversation and stay friends with them.